Past Rutgers University Honorary Degree Recipients

This list of honorary degree recipients is sortable by last name, year conferred, and degree type. Click on the title of the column to sort the list by that particular content.

We have added the honorary degree citations for some of our recipients. Click on the Citation images, where shown, to read them.

Last name First name Year Degree Citation
Pye Mort 1994 Doctor of Humane Letters
Qualles Paris 2001 Doctor of Fine Arts
Quarles Benjamin 1976 Doctor of Letters
Quimby Edith Hinkley 1956 Doctor of Science
Ramos-Horta José 2000 Doctor of Laws
Randolph Asa Philip 1964 Doctor of Laws
Rauscher, Jr. Frank Joseph 1973 Doctor of Science
Raven Peter Hamilton 1988 Doctor of Science
Read Hilton Shreve 1961 Doctor of Science
Rees Mina 1965 Doctor of Letters
Reese Everett David 1964 Doctor of Laws
Reese Gustave 1972 Doctor of Music
Reeve Christopher 2005 Doctor of Humane Letters
Reilly Hilda Christine 1966 Doctor of Science
Reitman Norman 1986 Doctor of Laws
Reston James Barrett 1957 Doctor of Letters
Ribicoff Abraham 1986 Doctor of Laws
Riley Matilda White 1983 Doctor of Humane Letters
Ringgold Faith 2009 Doctor of Letters
Robeson Paul 1973 Doctor of Humane Letters
Rockoff Alvin J. 1994 Doctor of Humane Letters
Rodino, Jr. Peter Wallace 1975 Doctor of Laws
Rodriguez Joseph H. 1974 Doctor of Laws
Roe Robert A. 1993 Doctor of Letters
Roebling Mary Gindhart 1987 Doctor of Humane Letters
Rogosin Israel 1966 Doctor of Humane Letters
Rohrer Heinrick 1987 Doctor of Science
Rollins Sonny 2009 Doctor of Fine Arts
Rossi Alice S. 1975 Doctor of Science
Roth Philip 1987 Doctor of Letters
Rubinstein Arthur 1963 Doctor of Music
Rukeyser Muriel 1961 Doctor of Letters
Ruttan Vernon Wesley 1978 Doctor of Laws
Ryan Arthur F. 2008 Doctor of Laws
Sachar Libby Bernstein 1955 Doctor of Humane Letters
Sakharov Andrei Dmitrievich 1981 Doctor of Science
Salisbury Harrison Evans 1983 Doctor of Letters
Sang Philip David 1961 Doctor of Letters
Sato Gordon Hisashi 2007 Doctor of Humane Letters
Schaaf Royal Albert 1956 Doctor of Science
Schein Philip S. 2006 Doctor of Science
Schettino C. Thomas 1961 Doctor of Laws
Schimmel Herbert D. 2003 Doctor of Humane Letters
Schlatter Richard 1973 Doctor of Humane Letters
Schlesinger, Jr. Arthur M. 1982 Doctor of Letters
Schuller Gunther 1980 Doctor of Fine Arts
Schulman Dan 2018 Doctor of Humane Letters
Schwartz Anna Jacobson 1998 Doctor of Laws
Scott Eugenie C. 2007 Doctor of Science
Scott Hugh 1986 Doctor of Laws