Past Rutgers University Honorary Degree Recipients

This list of honorary degree recipients is sortable by last name, year conferred, and degree type. Click on the title of the column to sort the list by that particular content.

We have added the honorary degree citations for some of our recipients. Click on the Citation images, where shown, to read them.

Last name First name Yearsort descending Degree Citation
Hicks Arthur James 2017 Doctor of Science
Makadon Harvey J. 2017 Doctor of Science
Patel Eboo 2017 Doctor of Humane Letters
Van Zandt Steven 2017 Doctor of Fine Arts
Hill Anita 2018 Doctor of Laws
Lavizzo-Mourey Risa J. 2018 Doctor of Science
Owens "Queen Latifah" Dana 2018 Doctor of Fine Arts
Schulman Dan 2018 Doctor of Humane Letters
Frazier Kenneth C. 2019 Doctor of Laws
Katyal Neal 2019 Doctor of Laws
McCourty Devin 2019 Doctor of Humane Letters
McCourty Jason 2019 Doctor of Humane Letters
Murphy Philip 2019 Doctor of Laws
Roberts Dorothy 2019 Doctor of Laws
Robeson Paul L. 2019 Doctor of Humane Letters
Shorter Wayne 2019 Doctor of Fine Arts
Holt Lester 2020 Doctor of Humane Letters
Martinez Angela "Angie" 2020 Doctor of Fine Arts
Martinez Judy Perry 2020 Doctor of Laws
Stewart Sandy J. 2020 Doctor of Humane Letters
Garrett Laurie 2021 Doctor of Science
Holt Rush 2021 Doctor of Laws
Moses Robert Parris 2021 Doctor of Laws
Pierce Wendell 2021 Doctor of Fine Arts
Trethewey Natasha 2021 Doctor of Letters
Wilson G. Willow 2021 Doctor of Letters
Hannah-Jones Nikole 2022 Doctor of Letters
Persichilli Judith 2022 Doctor of Science
Barchi Robert L. 2022 Doctor of Humane Letters
Ericsson Aprille Joy 2022 Doctor of Science
Hinojosa Maria 2022 Doctor of Letters
Meyer Wayne 2022 Doctor of Humane Letters
Nelson Alondra 2022 Doctor of Science
Remnick David Jay 2022 Doctor of Letters
Ralph Sheryl Lee 2023 Doctor of Fine Arts
Redd Dana 2023 Doctor of Letters
Angelson Mark A. 2023 Doctor of Humane Letters
Blanchard Terence 2023 Doctor of Fine Arts
Karikó Katalin 2023 Doctor of Science
Best William E. 2024 Doctor of Laws
Cobb Jelani 2024 Doctor of Letters
Hrabowski III Freeman A. 2024 Doctor of Letters
Levine Rachel L. 2024 Doctor of Science
Trotter Tariq Luqmaan 2024 Doctor of Fine Arts