Past Rutgers University Honorary Degree Recipients

This list of honorary degree recipients is sortable by last name, year conferred, and degree type. Click on the title of the column to sort the list by that particular content.

We have added the honorary degree citations for some of our recipients. Click on the Citation images, where shown, to read them.

Last namesort ascending First name Year Degree Citation
Oates Joyce Carol 1997 Doctor of Letters
O'Hara Gene 2004 Doctor of Humane Letters
Nye William Sanford 2015 Doctor of Science
Nujoma Sam 1997 Doctor of Laws
Norwood Janet Lippe 2003 Doctor of Laws
Norton Eleanor Holmes 1988 Doctor of Laws
Nicolson Marjorie Hope 1964 Doctor of Letters
Newmark Harold L. 1998 Doctor of Science
Newmark Nathan Mortimore 1955 Doctor of Science
Nevelson Louise 1972 Doctor of Fine Arts
Neuberger Katherine K. 1979 Doctor of Humane Letters
Neuberger Maurine Brown 1962 Doctor of Laws
Nelson Alondra 2022 Doctor of Science
Nelson Oswald George 1957 Doctor of Humane Letters
Nannes Caspar 1966 Doctor of Letters
Nagle Claire Waller 1978 Doctor of Laws
Nagel Ernest 1967 Doctor of Letters
Nader Ralph 1972 Doctor of Laws
Myers Chauncie Kilmer 1962 Doctor of Humane Letters
Muskie Edmund Sixtus 1986 Doctor of Laws
Murphy William Beverly 1973 Doctor of Humane Letters
Murphy Philip 2019 Doctor of Laws
Mumford Lawrence Quincy 1956 Doctor of Letters
Mrak Emil M. 1984 Doctor of Science
Moyers Bill 2016 Doctor of Laws
Moxon Rosamond Sawyer 1958 Master of Arts
Moses Robert Parris 2021 Doctor of Laws
Morse David Abner 1957 Doctor of Laws
Morrow John Howard 1963 Doctor of Humane Letters
Morrison Philip 1977 Doctor of Science
Morrison Toni 2011 Doctor of Letters
Morris Richard Brandon 1976 Doctor of Letters
Morgan Edmund Sears 1976 Doctor of Letters
Moore Marianne Craig 1955 Doctor of Letters
Mokhele Khotso 2005 Doctor of Humane Letters
Mitchell Eleanor 1968 Doctor of Letters
Mitchell James Paul 1959 Doctor of Laws
Miller Neal E. 1985 Doctor of Science
Miller Samuel Clifford 1983 Doctor of Letters
Miller William Christian 1966 Doctor of Laws
Miers Earl Schenck 1963 Doctor of Letters
Meyerson Martin 1970 Doctor of Humane Letters
Meyer Wayne 2022 Doctor of Humane Letters
Mendel Arthur 1973 Doctor of Music
Melcher Frederic Gershom 1958 Doctor of Letters
Meier August 1994 Doctor of Letters
McPhee John Angus 1988 Doctor of Letters
McGreevey James E. 2002 Doctor of Laws
McFarland Ross Armstrong 1964 Doctor of Science
McDonough Roger Henry 1956 Doctor of Letters